Sunday, April 22, 2018

BA Robertson

Brian Alexander Robertson was born in 1948 in Glasgow. He attended Allan Glen's School, Glasgow before graduating from the Royal Scottish Academy of Music. At 21, he signed a publishing deal with Steve Morris and in 1973 released his debut album entitled, Wringing Applause. The album had and impressive line-up of musicians including Herbie Flowers (Bass), Paul Beer & Stephen Saunders (Euphonium) and Barry Morgan (Drums) but it attracted little attention. BA meantime worked as a session musician and played keyboards on recording for other bands including Steve Harley & Cockney Rebel’s (1976) Another Journey (B-Side of Come up and make me smile).

The same year Alexander Robertson released his second album, "Shadow Of A Thin Man", which featured George Fenton, Tony Hymas (keyboards), Frank Ricotti, Terry Britten (guitarist), Herbie Flowers (bass), Chris Spedding (guitar) and Simon Philips on drums. BA and Terry Britten formed an ongoing song writing partnership and in 1978, they wrote “Start all over again” for Cliff Richard which was released on his Green Light album.

Robertson and Britten wrote many more songs for Cliff Richard including "Wired for Sound" for Cliff (1979) was released on the Rock 'n' Roll Juvenile album and “Carrie" (1980).

BA Robertson enjoyed chart success as a solo artist with six hit singles, starting with "Bang Bang" in 1979 which written and produced by Terry Britten.

In 1980, his third album Initial Success was released credited to BA Robertson and contained his next three follow up singles "Knocked It Off", "Kool in the Kaftan" and "To Be Or Not To Be" which reached chart positions 8, 17 and 9 respectively. The album also sold well and sat outside the top thirty albums in the UK.

His next album Bully For You (1981) contained another hit single Flight 19.

The "R&BA" album contained his last Top 40 hit which was a duet with Maggie Bell and cover version of P J Proby’s "Hold Me" which reached number 11 in the UK Singles Charts.

During the early 80s Robertson combined his career as an artist in a writing and production partnership with bassist Herbie Flowers. They wrote and produced with an eclectic crowd, including Lionel Bart, Joe Brown, Jim Cregan, Ray Cooper, Micky Dolenz, Gillian Gregory, Georg Kajanus, Harry Nilsson, Phil Pickett, Annie Ross, Sandie Shaw, and Chris Spedding. BA also recorded with Frida (Anni Frid Lyngstad) from Abba, 83, and Lulu in 84. But by this time his music tastes had changed and BA started to develop his career in other areas.

He penned and sang the theme music to the BBC television series Maggie and Brown Sauce's Multi-Coloured Swap Shop (Hello, Hello) theme and "I Wanna Be a Winner".

Robertson wrote and sang "We Have a Dream" for the 1982 World Cup Scotland squad (with John Sinclair Clarke) .

BA Robertson branched into acting and played the lead in the movie Living Apart Together (1982), directed by Charlie Gormley. He also wrote the score.

In 1985 BA Robertson started a song writing collaboration with Mike Rutherford (Genesis). Together they wrote "Silent Running (On Dangerous Ground)" for Genesis and Mike and the Mechanics’s "The Living Years". The latter was written after Robertson's father died twelve weeks before the birth of his own son, and was nominated for a Grammy Award for Song of the Year in 1990.

In 1987 Robertson wrote (and produced) some of tracks on the Eddie and the Tide album Looking For Adventure.

He continued to write music for films and briefly became a television presenter. Jock 'n' Roll Parts I & II charted the history of pop music in Scotland and B. A. in Music featured contributions from contemporary musical guests. The show was made for Channel 4 but only had a short run. On air Robertson had a confrontation with Bow Wow Wow singer, Annabella Lwin during which she called the program a 'pretty shit show' and stormed off.

BA conducted the last on camera interview with Alex Harvey before Alex died in 1982.

Throughout the 80's and 90's he continued to write and work in the studio with an even more diverse group of artists, including Sam Brown, Roger Daltrey, Lonnie Donegan, Dave Edmunds, Bernard Edwards, Peter Frampton, Alan Gorrie, John Jarvis, Maz + Kilgore, Joe Sample, Helena Springs, Andy Taylor (Duran Duran) and Chaka Khan.

He wrote the theme for the Wogan Show and in 1986 he was commissioned to compose the music for The Commonwealth Games in Edinburgh.

From the 90s on wards BA has continued to work both in the UK and the US writing, producing and more recently performing again.

Worth a listen
Brian Alexander Roberstson
Moira's Hand

Alexander Robertson
All the Thin Men (1976)
Goosebumps (1979)

BA Robertson
Bang Bang (1979)
Knocked it Off (1979)
Kool in the Kaftan (1980)
To Be or Not to Be (1980)
Flight 19 (1980)
We Have a Dream (1982)
Ceud M├Čle Failte (A Hundred Thousand Welcomes) (1986)

Duet with Maggie Bell

Hold Me (1981)

No comments: